Green News


Click here

to see how the WRF is
committed to energy conservation


Des Moines Metropolitan
Wastewater Reclamation Authority
3000 Vandalia Road
Des Moines, IA 50317


The Federal Water Pollution Control Act Amendments of 1972 (Public Law 92-500) called for a national program to clean up the nation’s waters by 1983. Section 208 of the law specified that particular attention be given to area where water quality control was a major problem. Accordingly, local governments in the Central Iowa Regional Association of Local Governments (CIRALG) received funding from the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency to conduct an Area wide Waste Treatment Management Study, informally called the “208” study. The 208 area encompassed 26 governmental jurisdiction covering almost 800 square miles. This cooperative effort to define and implement solutions resulted in the formation of the Des Moines Integrated Community Area (ICA), twelve local units of government and two sewer districts. The cities of Altoona, Ankeny, Bondurant, Clive, Des Moines, Johnston, Pleasant Hill, West Des Moines and Urbandale as well as Polk County and Warren County in addition to the Urbandale Sanitary Sewer District and the Urbandale-Windsor Heights Sanitary District are the parties to the ICA Agreement, which was signed in 1979. The constituent communities, except for the two sewer districts, were members of CIRALG and the CIRALG Policy Committee. The ICA Agreement provided that the constituent communities shall be the ICA Management Agency and shall be separate and distinct from CIRALG.

The ICA Agreement provided the institutional structure needed to implement the requirements of section 208 of Public Law 92-500. It described the duties and responsibilities of each constituent community as well as the proportionate funding for implementing the Des Moines Facilities Plan. The cost for implementation of the Facilities Plan is paid on a proportional basis according to the year 2005 population equivalent of each community. Each constituent community pays the operation and maintenance costs on a proportionate basis according to the annual proportional wastewater flows contributed. May,1995 the ICA management agency was renamed (WRA) Wastewater Reclamation Authority.

July 1, 2004 the Des Moines Metropolitan Wastewater Reclamation Authority (WRA) finalized the amended and restated agreement becoming a legal entity, including newly connecting communities, organization of a board with budget, operation and maintenance responsibilities, acquisition of existing facilities and transfer of assets. Full information on the WRA agreement, schedules of meetings for the WRA Board and Technical Committee can be found on this web site.